PDA

View Full Version : First Project, Window frames made with drywall edge guard

lightguylarry
11-21-2012, 11:01 PM
So this is my first project and just had to show off a little and offer it up to the group. I'm sure you guys can find improvements and tweaks, or maybe even be useful to someone else. So check it out, I got all giddy when I flipped the lights on for the first time. I don't think its possible to get it so neat without frames or some permanent attachment to the window frame.

I did the corners a variety of ways, when the window was small enough I cut out a triangle and made a single piece into an L shape to make up one half of the frame. Others I did a simple overlapping joint, some I did the overlap and bent the perpendicular side around to the second piece to help secure it. I used zipties most of the time, but did experiment with pop rivets.

I ziptied the wire to the frame and it helped with rigidity problems, but I just need the frame to hold the lights, the house will give it rigidity. I attached the first frame to the house using finishing nails and zipties. I also have thumbtacks in non-load bearing positions to hold the frame flush to the house. So far that's my hardest problem is finding ways to fasten the frame to the house without it being too visible after christmas when the frames are down.

IdunBenhad
11-21-2012, 11:20 PM
Hi:
Neat job. That looks like it should work good. I don't know what the edging costs, but it can't be too expensive.

One thing you might try to fasten the frame to the window/woodwork is double sticky tape or foam. Solves the problem of leftover holes. Another way would be to use stick-on velcro.

lightguylarry
11-21-2012, 11:28 PM
Each strip was under $2, I think 8 ft sections maybe 10. I like the velcro idea, does it hold up in the cold though? I'm in western NY so we can get pretty cold.

IdunBenhad
11-23-2012, 08:30 AM
Hi: