PDA

View Full Version : Random Flashing on pixels



trcons
11-09-2012, 11:40 PM
I have two strings on two seperate e681s that work fine while getting instructions from the computer, but when there is no information being sent they randomly flash. The boards are e681s, and the pixels are the 2811s from Ray. one run is 25 feet, the other is 50 feet. If I sub out strings, I can get a different outcome, in that some strings only have a few pixels flashing but I can't get rid of it completely. Has anyone else seen this? Any idea what the fix might be?

Thanks,
Tom

chelmuth
11-09-2012, 11:57 PM
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?22919-Two-issues-concerning-sorecently-purchased-2811-and-2801-pixels-with-E68X-controllers

trcons
11-10-2012, 05:54 AM
Chelmuth,

Thanks for the reply. Thats not the issue. When the sequence is not running, but the power is on to the e681 I get random flashing on one string connected to the board. It's like stray voltage is getting down the line.

Tom

Barnabybear
11-10-2012, 06:36 AM
Is it on a string on cluster 4?
I had something similar with 3001s. Changing the off time and web page mode in the E681 settings cured it.

trcons
11-10-2012, 06:59 AM
Barnabybear,

Now that you mention it each of them are on cluster 4 of the controllers. What did you change the web page settings to?

Tom

Barnabybear
11-10-2012, 07:57 AM
Global Configuration:

Static Network Information:
IP Address: 192.168.001.206 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.000 Gateway: 192.168.001.001 DNS Server: 192.168.001.001

Dynamic Page Select Address: OFF Last Firmware Update Status: None Tried
Default IP Mode: STATIC Web Srvr Mode: Boot Only No Data Timeout: Disabled Test Pattern: 00

jstjohnz
11-11-2012, 01:56 AM
Email or PM me and I will send you a firmware update. There have been a lot of weird issues reported with recently purchased 2801s and 2811s. I think the new firmware is worth a try. Even when no data is being sent to the controller the controller still sends a constant stream of intensity 0 values to each pixel. I suspect the issue is there all the time but it's masked when the pixels are operating.

Did you get these pixels recently? Do you have older pixels and if so do they have the same issue?