PDA

View Full Version : Welding

angus40
11-01-2012, 12:36 PM
I am not a professional welder but I have done alot of it . if you own a welder you know full well the necessity of a good grinder .

Also having a supply of various types of metals allows you to fabricate just about anything you can think of .

While building my mega tree i decided to use 3/4 pex conduit to make a dual base ring that will serve 2 purposes

1 provide a tie down for the strings
2 create a covered area to hide wires controllers etc.

rather than buy the connectors for $3.80 per I decided to weld up my own using 1' pipe . what i discovered by doing this

was I can slide the conduit right through without restriction , this was a bonus because it allows me to locate them any where i like.

Here is a pic.

Also a welding tip ,If you are using a mig use gas and solid steel wire grind your welds while they are still hot .

Edit ..this only applies to hot or cold rolled steel not aluminum or stainless steel.

Try to avoid or minimize grinding stainless steel welds though this can damage the temper of the weld .

Cheers
Richard

n_gifford
11-01-2012, 12:41 PM
My only advice: Try to keep the welding on top of the plywood to a minimum..... :)

angus40
11-01-2012, 02:49 PM
thanks for this very informative tip . what you see in the picture is a cut off saw , I am sure you new that though judging from your likely experienced tip .

thanks

CaptKirk
11-01-2012, 03:42 PM
Besides every experienced welder knows to NOT weld on plywood- a pile of oily rags works MUCH better.... :freak:

(For the humor impaired, please really don't do this!! Only Mr. Nerkel's engineers try that technique! :omg:)

Wayne J
11-01-2012, 06:48 PM
<snip>Also a welding tip ,If you are using a mig use gas and solid steel wire grind your welds while they are still hot .

Cheers
Richard