PDA

View Full Version : need help with soldering

BigPav
10-31-2012, 04:33 PM
So its my first time soldering read about how to do it and watched the videos here on the wiki page. So I set everything up. I'm using a Weller wes51station with the original tip it came with. Working on a renard 24 board. Placed the first set of resistors in let the iron warm up tinned the tip and tried to solder. On the video I see the solder spread around the part however when I do it I don't see it I know it soldered cause I pushed to see if the resistor would come up. I read that it should look shiny but can't see anything. I. Have the temp set at 550 degrees F.

Dennis Cherry
10-31-2012, 05:31 PM
Use 700 degrees F. and SN63 solder that is a 63/37 type solder, if you cannot find it then 60/40 is fine. Do not use 50/50 or acid core solder.

ratroder
10-31-2012, 07:33 PM
Also get the Leaded solder not lead-free. Good solder makes the job. It is your electrical connection.

kingofkya
10-31-2012, 07:38 PM
Are you sure the tip is hot? Also try playing with the angle of your iron a bit. The only thing i can think of did you buy solder with out rosien/flux core?

And for the record 200C is more than plenty to flow solder on a resistor guys...

Also after you think the joint is good leave the iron on the part and wait 2 seconds then remove the iron.(Timing is bit long but it takes practice to get the time right.

CaptKirk
10-31-2012, 07:47 PM
"They say" you apply solder to the part, not the soldering iron but that does not always work.