PDA

View Full Version : convert to RGB Question

jchuchla
10-26-2012, 07:55 PM
I may be completely missing this but i'm just getting started with HLS (yes i watched the videos). I'm starting from scratch, no vixen conversion or anything. I'm trying to work with about 300 pixels (only). If i add 900 raw channels, is there an easy way to convert them to RGB? The auto convert doesn't seem very automatic to me. it looks like i drag each channel to an RGB group and then save. I'm only 10 pixels in, and i'm bored. Is this right or is there an easier step i'm missing?

Then it takes the name of whatever you dragged in there last. Is there a way to quickly name them smarter?

budude
10-26-2012, 08:01 PM
Click and move your mouse down the entire channel list, select the set RGB button and save - that converts your 300 single channels into 300 RGB channels. As for naming, if you are handy with spreadsheets you can cut/paste a portion of that on top of the channel names.

jchuchla
10-26-2012, 08:18 PM
I thought that was the thing to do, but after i do that i still see the dmx addresses in order (e.g. 1-900) and i see all the channels, it doesn't seem to have condensed it down by a third.

Thanks for the naming trick, i'll definately use that.

budude
10-26-2012, 08:32 PM
Sorry - I completely missed the 900 raw channels part - how about if you simply delete 301-900 and do the basic conversion to RGB - or do you already have sequence data for them?

jchuchla
10-26-2012, 08:37 PM
no sequence data yet (nothing i care about) just a few test intensities to figure this out. I can certainly just start over.
I'm assuming the DMX channel of each RGB channel should be the Red DMX channel for that pixel. Am i right by that? How do i get it to increment the address by 3? (excel again?)
I'm just now getting that channels on the sequencer do not necessarily equal DMX channels, they're more like logical control tracks.