PDA

View Full Version : error chan 2big need help



boarder3
10-20-2012, 10:14 PM
im trying to set up output and getting chan 2big. Now i made universe 1 650 channels all rgb and renumbered channels for output but when i go to select output i get that error in box. I checked forums i didnt see any info on that. thx in advanced.

boarder3
10-20-2012, 10:16 PM
never mind i think i know what i did

injury
10-20-2012, 10:18 PM
Depends on the controller, if just using standard E1.31 you have a maximum number of channels in a universe of 512, so you need to increment your universes then renumber for output. If using etherdongle with pixelnet there's a different method.

boarder3
10-20-2012, 10:30 PM
nope didnt fix i have 256 channels in each universe which gives me 768 channels in each universe it tells me chan 2 big?

boarder3
10-20-2012, 10:32 PM
so if im using 682 board and i have 64 pixels per string how do i break that up into universes properly. except for last string has 63

JHinkle
10-20-2012, 10:46 PM
If I understand the controller you are using - you are using E131 as the transport protocol.

Pixels contain 3 channels and can't cross Universe boundaries.

So --- 510 is the magic number of channels for pixels which equates to 170 pixel per universe.

You loose 2 channels per universe.

So Universe 1 takes pixels 1 through 170, Universe 2 takes pixels 171 through 340, etc

In the Controller's control panel - you map pixels to output connects.

If the controller does NOT allow you to map across universe boundaries, then you will be limited to 2 strings per Universe - or 128 pixels.

Hope that helps.

Joe