PDA

View Full Version : add control trigger to workgroup



robertt
10-17-2012, 10:27 AM
Hello,

When trying to add a control trigger to a workgroup the control trigger won't show....
I've added the trigger in raw channels (automatically univ:64000 channel:1)
I can check it in "select channels to work on" but when checked it won't show.
when trying some time's in a row HLS crashes, also saving and reopening has no effect.
Version 7F, in total 72 universes (2xDMX, 70xRGB) no audio used in sequence and no output configured yet....

Hope you can help.
Greetings, Robert

JHinkle
10-17-2012, 10:42 AM
Robert:

I've received two crash reports from your activity.

Both are failing in the same function - I don't understand why.

I need to see what you are doing.

Please see my PM.

Joe

robertt
10-18-2012, 02:51 AM
Finally found out, with Joe's help, it's my mistake. :-(
Broke the 30000 limit with more than 3600 :-)

I'm controlling my lights with 4 x J1Sys P12, 5 x J1Sys p2 and 1 x J1Sys d2
The P12 has 12 universes, all with 160 pixels = 7680
The P2 has 8 universes, all with 160 pixels = 6400 (all half populated)
The d2 has 2 universes, all with 512 channels = 1024

That brings my channel count to 11904. I assumed that the maximum channels was 30000 but it is the maximum DMX channels that is 30000 (and not 90000)
You can add channels above 30000 in the raw channel setup but not in the work group.

I could (should) get back to the real world because I only have 5000 WS2811 pixels and some other lights, but I was just getting everything fully configured in a way that I can swap things out easily :-)

Greetings, Robert

JHinkle
10-18-2012, 05:40 AM
Robert

HLS does not penalize you for not having enough channels in the beginning to take care of future growth.

Good practice is to only create the number of channels actually required.

As the show grows in the future, HLS will allow you to add more channels very easily with NO negative impact.

Have a great show.

Joe