PDA

View Full Version : HLS scheduling: a filler program and external triggers for programs?

truejoy
10-14-2012, 09:59 PM
I'm new to HLS programming but very, very impressed with the software and developer responsiveness.

Two questions about whether current functions exist (or are being considered for the future)? Of course, if there is already a different way of accomplishing the same end-goal, then I'm open to learning about those as well.

1) is there a way to have a basic "filler" program running the lights when no other specific (more detailed) program is running? What I'm thinking is about a simple twinkling routine that would play between the scheduled shows. Lets say I run a big-deal synchronized show every 10 minutes. What are my lights and sound doing between shows?

2) is there a way (command line call, http request, etc.) for an external program to trigger the playback of a specific HLS light show program? I see that Vixen has a both a web protocol and a keypad/joystick plug-in. Does HLS have anything similar?

Thanks in advance for letting me know about these items.

JHinkle
10-15-2012, 07:16 AM
1) is there a way to have a basic "filler" program running the lights when no other specific (more detailed) program is running? What I'm thinking is about a simple twinkling routine that would play between the scheduled shows. Lets say I run a big-deal synchronized show every 10 minutes. What are my lights and sound doing between shows?

2) is there a way (command line call, http request, etc.) for an external program to trigger the playback of a specific HLS light show program? I see that Vixen has a both a web protocol and a keypad/joystick plug-in. Does HLS have anything similar?

Thanks in advance for letting me know about these items.

1: NO. HLS's Show is to play shows that you create. You should consider creating a "filler".

2. Currently - not at this time because no one has requested it.