PDA

View Full Version : Nutcracker: Releases



smeighan
10-13-2012, 04:57 PM
I will use this thread to post new releases.

So there is a new release today. For those with a localhost install you need to get both the zip file from github and also re-install the database.

Before re-installing the database on your localhost
either
1) Screen print any changes to effects or targets that you might have made locally
OR
2) Copy the same changes from your local machine into meighan.net. Every few days i take an export of meighan.net and put it into the zip file from github.

OCT 13 Release
In this change:
1) Projects now process single_strand effects
2) Added new column into EFFECTS_USER_HDR. New column is effect_id. We are working on making an export of Nutcracker effects so that they can be shared. xLights will soon have the ability to use this file.
3) Increased memory for an effect from 512M to 1024M
4) Added more error checks to check for the existence of a file before we try to open it.
5) On projects generation table, the elapsed time each effect took is now shown


So the two steps with this release is get a new zip file and re-install the database


5) You now need to get a copy of the current Nutcracker code tree. Go to
http://smeighan.github.com/nutcracker/ and download the zip file. This file is updated daily with the latest Nutcracker code tree and with the latest export from meighan.net/nutcracker database
Unzip this file into c:\wamp\www\nutcracker or into c:\xampp\htdocs\nutcracker



7) When you get Localhost working, install the database.
http://Http://localhost/nutcracker/install.php in a browser window. Do not put in any passwords, just click submit.
This command will do the following
a) Drop all the tables from your existing nutcracker database
b) create the nutcracker database if it is missing
c) create the nutcracker user: nc_user
d) execute sql/nutcrackertables.sql to create all nutcracker tables
e) execute sql/nutcrackerdata.sql to create 50,000 rows of data

smeighan
10-15-2012, 02:31 PM
Release Oct 15th

Added single strand effects to display in Gallery.
One caveat, the copy function will only copy the first page, not the segments. So you cant copy single strand, you can just view them

Increased the size of the thumbnails by 50% in the gallery

budude
10-15-2012, 02:39 PM
Sean - not sure if this has been asked before - but is there a 'version' number we can refer to - or if not is that something you can add. Instead of saying "I think I downloaded/installed the latest - maybe...". I can tell you right out which version it is - maybe on the front page? I realize the git download has the timestamp but if you don't install it correctly you could still be running a different version for example.

smeighan
10-15-2012, 02:56 PM
Sean - not sure if this has been asked before - but is there a 'version' number we can refer to - or if not is that something you can add. Instead of saying "I think I downloaded/installed the latest - maybe...". I can tell you right out which version it is - maybe on the front page? I realize the git download has the timestamp but if you don't install it correctly you could still be running a different version for example.

well, no. Not unless we tag them as we check them in.

if you go here
https://github.com/smeighan/nutcracker/commits/master

you will see all the versions that are being checked in. 6 on Saturday, 3 so far today.

If i say there is a release, prob just go and get the latest zip file. when you do that, there may already have been some new checkins.

tfischer
10-15-2012, 03:13 PM
Sean - not sure if this has been asked before - but is there a 'version' number we can refer to - or if not is that something you can add. Instead of saying "I think I downloaded/installed the latest - maybe...". I can tell you right out which version it is - maybe on the front page? I realize the git download has the timestamp but if you don't install it correctly you could still be running a different version for example.

Before reporting bugs, I always try it on the online site before reporting - that way I'm guaranteed to be using the "latest and greatest". So far I haven't found a case where it worked online but not in my local version. There were a few cases where I could ONLY get it to work in my local version due to server timeouts though.

budude
10-15-2012, 03:29 PM
Yes - but if the web pages actually said "VERSION XXX.XXX" then there would be no doubt.

smeighan
10-15-2012, 03:59 PM
Yes - but if the web pages actually said "VERSION XXX.XXX" then there would be no doubt.
I will look if I can extract it. In cvs ans Sven you can have key words that get updated automatically.
If github has this then I can output it.

I will not be updating a version number manually 20 times per week.

It would be nice, soi will investigate

bwalter
10-16-2012, 02:29 PM
I stumbled on Nutcracker and I am quite impressed. When do you anticipate the GIF and Picture effects to be operational?

Thanks.

smeighan
10-16-2012, 03:35 PM
I stumbled on Nutcracker and I am quite impressed. When do you anticipate the GIF and Picture effects to be operational?

Thanks.

i expect animated gifs fixed by tomorrow. There is a bonus coming too, i have been able to add auto sizing to gifs, you no longer need to try and manipulate them before using them in nutcracker.

I am taking my family out to a concert tonight, but may be able to get enough time to finish.


BTW, there is another advantage of having a local install and animated gifs. It is SO much easier while browsing gif libraries to just right click, save as directly to the ../nutcracker/effects/gifs/member_id idrectory.


thanks

Henedce
10-23-2012, 08:34 AM
wrong spot

angus40
06-22-2013, 02:46 PM
Sean I watched your export to lor tutorial video and have a question about exporting a Nutcracker effect for hls .

Is it possible for one ?


if so does the effect get generated without the music attached ?

is there a simple way to generate the effect and export it , am I reading more into the process than is neccessary ?

With HLS , effects can be placed anywhere users like , all that is required is the generated effect file .

any help would be appreciated .

smeighan
08-11-2013, 04:28 PM
I just saw this post, not sure why i didnt respond before.

HLS export is hlsnc
HLS exports dont have music attached to them
After generating an xseq file you then go to export and select HLS

i know you already figured this out but thought i would answer so trhead has answer

thanks
sean