PDA

View Full Version : Wireframe without any welding? Possible?

cheval22
09-18-2012, 01:43 PM
Hi,

I'm actually new to wireframes and I would like to build my own custome one. I do not own a welder so I was wondering if there was a way of doing wireframe without welds?

I got some LED strips and I'm looking for a way to place them, that's why I thought of the wireframes. Any other ideas is welcome!

Thank you very much!

BillAd
09-18-2012, 02:20 PM
If the wire guage is not too thick you should be able to use a mapp gas torch with brazing rods. Here is one example: http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202185045/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=torch&storeId=10051

Bill

somtng4u2c
09-18-2012, 03:56 PM
You might get a hold of dougp on here as he makes wire frames for customers all the time.

crazy_carpenter
09-18-2012, 05:44 PM
Check with Matt_Edwards. He recommended this product to me. http://durafix.com/ I haven't tried it yet but he seems to like it.

Matt_Edwards
09-18-2012, 06:29 PM
I used 1/8" wire for my wreath and quickly learned I lack way too many skils to Stick weld this gauge even with 1.5mm sticks (all I had at the time was a stick welder)
So I ended using 14" lengths of 18gauge wire to wrap two joining ends on the frame togeather. Once I was happy with the overall shape, I applied Durafix to the joint, and when it hardened the frame no longer slipped or moved.
bear in mind if you go this way, you joints will be bigger and thus needs to be considered when designing your frame.

My weather is 3' diameter so it is not a small structure.

Matt_Edwards
09-18-2012, 06:33 PM
others have used flat bar. You bent and riveted the joints.
I havent used this method, but I remember reading a strip Star that used this method with Aluminium.

budude
09-18-2012, 07:14 PM
others have used flat bar. You bent and riveted the joints.
I havent used this method, but I remember reading a strip Star that used this method with Aluminium.