PDA

View Full Version : Prop plug how to ?



angus40
08-14-2012, 01:05 AM
Could some post a link to obtaining and using one of these plugs please .

Thanks
Richard

jstjohnz
08-14-2012, 01:27 AM
They can be purchased at the parallax.com web site store, among others. You download and install the "Propeller Tool V1.3" software from that web site also. The prop plug plugs into the 4-pin connector on the board you're programming. Select (F)ile then (O)pen, then set type to binary. Navigate to the folder where your .eeprom file is located and double-click it. This will open a programming window. Click on "Program EEPROM" to download the .eeprom file to the eeprom on the board. It should automatically reboot and start running the new program.

angus40
08-14-2012, 01:42 AM
Thanks for the quick and detailed reply Jim .

dlovely
08-14-2012, 07:31 AM
Mouser (http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Parallax/32201/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMt7FrWooXVB14dwtuxqLs8Y) has them now if you need some other things with the prop plug.

Materdaddy
08-14-2012, 10:51 AM
Also, if you have an FTDI Friend from adafruit, they work too: http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?20871-PropPlug-Assumptions-and-the-Adafruit-FTDI-Friend

angus40
08-14-2012, 10:53 AM
Thanks Dave for your forward thinking as to saving on shipping , I was hoping to see when i clicked on this thread " Diyledexpress will be carring them " and that i could get 1 with my next order .

lol

Richard

MacabreRob
08-14-2012, 04:00 PM
dlovely, I always have the urge to swat my monitor whenever I read one of your posts... lol

dlovely
08-14-2012, 05:18 PM
dlovely, I always have the urge to swat my monitor whenever I read one of your posts... lol

Its working then! :biggrin:

Best one was someone thought it got between the layers of their LCD screen.