PDA

View Full Version : Nutcracker: Yeah!! LSP works



smeighan
08-03-2012, 12:41 AM
It works!!

I just pasted 1000 channels of a Nutcracker Spiral into LSP 2.0, paste took < 8 seconds

I had not decided on what sequencer i would use, now i think it will be LSP (I bought it last january, just have never used it).

:) :)

ok, make_lsp.php is released so people can try it.

1) Create effects as normal, select lsp to create an output xml file
2) Right click the file that is created and store it on top of your UserPatterns.xml file. If you use patterns, make a copy first.
on my windows 7 box, this file is found here
c: => Programs (86) => GraphXPros => LSP Sequencer => UserPatterns.xml

3) Launch LSP, open a sequence that has rgb channels.
4) On the left menu bar, select Patterns. You will see a group named Nutcracker. Below that will be your nutcracker effect you just created. My patter was called AA+BARBERPOLE_180
5)Drag and drop this effect onto your timeline.

All of this is beta, please give me feedback.

I am not sure what value i should be using for the gui id. I made a pattern and then copied the value that was from my desktop.

Here follow a sample of a UserPatterns.xml file. The part in red is my question.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<ArrayOfPattern xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
<Pattern>
<GroupName>Nutcracker</GroupName>
<Name>AA+BARBERPOLE_180</Name>
<Image>
<Width>99999</Width>
<Height>140</Height>
</Image>
<Tracks>
<Track>
<TrackGuid>60cc0c76-f458-4e67-abb4-5d56a9c1d97c</TrackGuid>
<IsHidden>false</IsHidden>
<IsPrimaryTrack>false</IsPrimaryTrack>
<TrackColorName>Gainsboro</TrackColorName>
<TrackColorARGB>-2302756</TrackColorARGB>
<TrackID>0</TrackID>
<TrackType>0</TrackType>
<WiiMapping inv="0" ibn="" inbn="" ani="0" ain="" hty="-1" fed="0" wind="-1" wibt="0" cint="False" ceff="False" hefsd="True" lef="3" lefl="1" intb="0" efd="0" />
<Name />
<Intervals>
<TimeInterval eff="3" dat="&lt;?xml version=&quot;1.0&quot; encoding=&quot;utf-16&quot;?&gt;
&lt;ec&gt;
&lt;in&gt;100&lt;/in&gt;
&lt;out&gt;100&lt;/out&gt;
&lt;/ec&gt;" gui="{DA98BD5D-9C00-40fe-A11C-AD3242573443}" in="100" out="100" pos="50000" sin="-1" att="0" bst="0" ben="0" />
<TimeInterval eff="3" dat="&lt;?xml version=&quot;1.0&quot; encoding=&quot;utf-16&quot;?&gt;
&lt;ec&gt;
&lt;in&gt;100&lt;/in&gt;
&lt;out&gt;100&lt;/out&gt;
&lt;/ec&gt;" gui="{DA98BD5D-9C00-40fe-A11C-AD3242573443}" in="100" out="100" pos="100000" sin="-1" att="0" bst="0" ben="0" />
<TimeInterval eff="3" dat="&lt;?xml version=&quot;1.0&quot; encoding=&quot;utf-16&quot;?&gt;
&lt;ec&gt;
&lt;in&gt;100&lt;/in&gt;
&lt;out&gt;100&lt;/out&gt;
&lt;/ec&gt;" gui="{DA98BD5D-9C00-40fe-A11C-AD3242573443}" in="100" out="100" pos="150000" sin="-1" att="0" bst="16713925" ben="16713925" />

if it turns out we need this to be custom, i will have to prompt for each of your gui values.

we will see

jaywalk101
08-03-2012, 09:42 AM
glad your making progress sean! I just tried dragging the pattern to the time line, and nothing ever appears. Was yours showing up?

mschell
08-03-2012, 10:21 AM
To use the pattern, you need to drag it on the actual channels themselves. I haven't tried Sean's output yet on LSP, but the pattern library is a little different than the layers.

smeighan
08-03-2012, 10:36 AM
when i dragged it over the timeline, i had an hourglass for about 3-4 seconds. i waited until the pattern showed up (~2-3 secs) and then pasted (~3-4 secs)


A question is how lsp will handle thousands of tracks of rgb, altough there is some delay before it works, it did handle my 16x100 tree

I just pasted a butterfly, this has the most pixels lit since every single one has a color. This was a 8 sec sequence and 2400 channels.
The secret i think is wait until you see the color pattern show up then paste.

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/images/2012-08-03_0832.png

jaywalk101
08-03-2012, 01:25 PM
hmm... I tried dropping it on the channels, but I'm still not getting anything to actually paste. Seems like I'm getting different behavior. When I drag and drop, I get the following prompt :(see attached image)

when I click Paste nothing happens.....

anyways though, glad to see progress with this.. i just bought LSP 2 pro version and have been wanting to integrate Nutcracker really bad!! :)14775

smeighan
08-03-2012, 01:41 PM
hmm... I tried dropping it on the channels, but I'm still not getting anything to actually paste. Seems like I'm getting different behavior. When I drag and drop, I get the following prompt :(see attached image)

when I click Paste nothing happens.....

anyways though, glad to see progress with this.. i just bought LSP 2 pro version and have been wanting to integrate Nutcracker really bad!! :)14775

I made a quick tutorial on putting nutcracker into lsp
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/tutorials/LSP.swf

jaywalk101
08-03-2012, 03:30 PM
Okay, I got it to work now... however its not showing up on my grid when I paste the effect. I decided to finally simply test the sequence with the preview tool, and what do you know, it is showing up there and working just fine.. Not sure why its not showing up on the grid though. Even tried doing a re-install. Any LSP users out there have any ideas? Could it be the gui ID you explained earlier? Thanks!

boarder3
08-03-2012, 03:53 PM
I was hoping to try the new lsp thats coming out. I had lots of issues with 2.0 glitching and was hoping all is fixed in latest version.

smeighan
08-03-2012, 03:59 PM
Okay, I got it to work now... however its not showing up on my grid when I paste the effect. I decided to finally simply test the sequence with the preview tool, and what do you know, it is showing up there and working just fine.. Not sure why its not showing up on the grid though. Even tried doing a re-install. Any LSP users out there have any ideas? Could it be the gui ID you explained earlier? Thanks!

select a few pixels on your timeline, right click and "Copy to New Pattern". Give this pattern a name.

now open your UserPatterns.xml file and find the pattern you created. Look at the gui value in it.

let me know

thanks

smeighan
08-03-2012, 06:45 PM
New release of code.

Now when you select lsp, i will first show you all of the effects that you have generated to the same target. If you are doing text on a target called MTREE, i will search for any effects you have created on MTREE. I then show you a form. select the effects you would like to be added into the Nutcracker Group inside of your UserPatterns.xml file.

In the below example my target file was called AA (yeah, original i know)

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/images/2012-08-03_1639.png

for my 2400 channels , each effect 8 seconds long the xml created was around 21mbytes. If i clicked all 20 effects i would be creating a 400mbyte UserPatterns.xml file. I just created 6 effects into the UserPatterns file (120mbytes) and it opened in 15 seconds. Performance seems very good from LSP in this area. I went and tried pasting multiple different effects, they all worked as expected.

mschell
08-03-2012, 09:50 PM
Nice work, Sean. This will make it VERY easy to get the patterns you want into LSP, which can then be placed anywhere inside a sequence!

I mean to try this out soon...

Too little time, too much to do!!!

jaywalk101
08-03-2012, 11:31 PM
i checked my the gui value and it looks like its the same as yours. So I'm not sure why mine is not showing up on the grid properly. I also noticed that a 10 sec effect will fill an entire 2 minute sequence up. Even a 1 second effect will fill about 12 seconds up(The effect runs very slow). I was wondering what version of LSP you were running Sean. I think I have the most current version: 2_0_11225_2000. I'm curious if maybe you're running an older version??

smeighan
08-03-2012, 11:38 PM
i checked my the gui value and it looks like its the same as yours. So I'm not sure why mine is not showing up on the grid properly. I also noticed that a 10 sec effect will fill an entire 2 minute sequence up. Even a 1 second effect will fill about 12 seconds up(The effect runs very slow). I was wondering what version of LSP you were running Sean. I think I have the most current version: 2_0_11225_2000. I'm curious if maybe you're running an older version??

i am running 2_0_11317_1750.

If i have an effect that is 8 seconds in duration, it is coming out as 8 seconds on my timeline. mytimeline in lsp is 100ms, my nutcracker effects were 100ms.

I use the defaults
x Snap to Nearest timings
x Use Clipboard timings.

jaywalk101
08-03-2012, 11:53 PM
okay... figured out the timing issue... i was using the default 1 second.. changed to 100ms and timing is fixed. Still not displaying the effects on the grid though... but as i said before the effect is there when I play it... probably something i'm doing wrong... thanks for your help!

smeighan
08-04-2012, 02:53 AM
3rd release of code.

This release takes the nutcracker gif and converts it to a bmp. it then encodes is base64 and includes it in the xml file.

we also show thumbnails of teh effects you have added into the UserPatterns.xml

n8huntsman
08-04-2012, 03:16 AM
Great news Sean! Is this not the method I recommended in the beginning? I'll give this a try in 2.5,as soon as I return from my mini vacation.

jaywalk101
08-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Hey Sean... Thought I'd try testing out your new changes this morning....... this is what i get now...... wasn't sure if i was doing something wrong. thanks!

Warning: require_once(BMP.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/make_lsp-exec.php on line 178

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'BMP.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/make_lsp-exec.php on line 178

smeighan
08-04-2012, 11:26 AM
Hey Sean... Thought I'd try testing out your new changes this morning....... this is what i get now...... wasn't sure if i was doing something wrong. thanks!

Warning: require_once(BMP.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/make_lsp-exec.php on line 178

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'BMP.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/make_lsp-exec.php on line 178

Sorry, i missed moving that file over. try it now.

sean

boarder3
08-04-2012, 12:47 PM
n8huntsman you got a copy of 2.5 already. Did dave fix the scheduler? and one feature i hoped was changed that was that the timeline doesn't add intervals when i paste something was that changed or fixed?

jaywalk101
08-04-2012, 09:04 PM
Hey Sean.. I got it working!! The newer 2.0 version I was running was the problem. I downgraded to the version you are running and I'm seeing the effects on the grid now..

Went from: version 2_0_11225_2000
to: 2_0_11317_1750

Once again I appreciate all of your efforts!! You have made everyone's sequencing a lot easier!!!