PDA

View Full Version : Code merging

jeffu231
08-01-2012, 08:55 PM
Starting a thread to hold a discussion about merging code fixes into the tree. I have fixes for bug 69 and 70 and need to merge that code back into the official tree.

sallz0r
08-01-2012, 09:31 PM
If anyone else has much experience with Github and working on public projects like this, then I'm open to suggestions, as I've got limited experience with public Git projects.

However, from what I understand, it should go like this: You fork off the Github repo with your own copy. You make changes, commit them, and push them back to your Github repo/fork. Then, to get them back into the 'main' vixenmodules repo, you make a 'pull' request -- we then look at it, make sure it looks good, then merge it in.

So, that's how I understand it at least. Any thoughts?

Materdaddy
08-01-2012, 10:53 PM
That's exactly how it works. We use git extensively at work, but I actually did my first "github" style workflow the other day for a small project. It went exactly as you described. Fork->make changes->pull request.

Some things I noticed:
* The pull request is made per branch, and it's "floating". What I mean by that is if you make a pull request of a branch/fork that contains 2 commits, then subsequent to your pull request push additional changes, the pull request actually includes the new commits. The pull request contains all changes to the tree at the time the original project owner accepts/merges the changes.

* There's mixed feelings on whether the contributor should keep the forked repo around. Note that if the contributor deletes their fork, the closed pull request on the main repository will have an invalid link back and say: "___ merged X commits into X/master from unknown repository." Before deleting the repo, "unknown repository" listed the forked repo.

sallz0r
08-02-2012, 12:29 AM
Gotcha, thanks for those comments materdaddy! That's good to know.