PDA

View Full Version : Project enclosures



tconley
01-03-2008, 12:40 PM
This vedor carries great enclosures that are both rugged professional and reasonable. I used this one for my renard 24 after frank showed me the site.

http://www.yourbroadbandstore.com/product.php?pid=207882

I am planning to use these for my SSR's

http://www.yourbroadbandstore.com/product.php?pid=701663

sandy
01-03-2008, 01:47 PM
Those look very nice,
$12 for an enclosure?
designed to be outdoors?
sounds like a bargain to me.
And the $4 ssr boxes too.
Maybe a COOP is in order to get the prices even lower.

ben
01-03-2008, 06:04 PM
I am going to see about that enclosure for my GRiNCH's, Ren-C and Ren-T.

Ben

tconley
01-03-2008, 06:09 PM
i was going to bring that up in the parts coops

Wombat
01-03-2008, 07:31 PM
i like those enclosures.. the links to the site dont work for me though

Wombat

scharbon
01-03-2008, 11:48 PM
Those SSR enclosures look good - but are the holes the right spacing for the SSR PCBs? What's the work around if they aren't? drill through the box and seal it with silicon?

Do they fit the upright fuse?

Steve

kostyun
01-03-2008, 11:58 PM
The enclosures work quite well.

The way I mounted my ren 24is is to cut 2 pieces of 1.5" alu angle, and then "mount" it to the box (I used screws and 1/2" copper pipe unions as standoffs) then I just attach the board to the alunium.

Before the next ren24 coop starts I am going to work on getting good photo's of this for reference.

sandy
04-25-2008, 03:37 PM
I ordered one each of 4 different models from them today.
The 12x9, the 9x9,
and a small 3.5x3, and a 5x3.
the larger ones for REN16 and Ren24's
and the smaller for the SSRs for the 595 section of the system.
When I get them I'll try to get some quick ideas out for mounting the different boards,
to determine how and if they'll work.

The enclosures are due to arrive on Thursday,
but I have a busy weekend, so I doubt that I'll get to try them with the Ren24 and Ren16 before next week.
The broadband store is quick and easy to buy from.
They do recommend creating an account but there is a box to bypass that for a one shot sale.
There is a savings if you buy more than 4 of each type.
If they work out I'll see if we can get a better discount in a group buy.
But still at $12 a piece, it's less $$ than the Orbit,
altho it has no power cord or GFI built in.

sandy
05-02-2008, 10:14 AM
The Broadband Store enclosure look great.
Lots of possiblities.
here are a few links to some first cut ideas.

The list at the broadbandstore website
http://www.yourbroadbandstore.com/category.php?product=Enclosures&cat=E

The large enclosure 12x9 fits the REN26 very nicely
here it is shown vertically
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/cg2000-ren24v.jpg
this is tight going horizontally
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/cg2000-ren24h.jpg
here it is with the REN16
looks like two could easily fit
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/cg2000-ren16.jpg

This is the 9x9" enclosure with the REN24
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/cg1000-ren24.jpg
and with the REN16
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/cg1000-ren16.jpg

I wasn't able to disconnect any of my 595 boards to see how they would fit,
but they are similar in size to the REN16.

The Tii enclosure looks good and is big enough for lots of wires,
but it has a binding post molded into it that either would need to be removed
or a new hole drilled in the SSR to use the post as a mount.
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/tii347.jpg
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/tii347-ssr.jpg

This small enclosure will just fit the SSR,
space is small but 16awg wires should fit.
http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ta200-ssr.jpg

Hope this helps in some ideas for packaging the boards.
These enclosures are all designed to be outside so there is good water resistance,
and rubber sealed openings for the wires.

More will be posted and maybe a how-to when I get some wired.

WWNF911
05-02-2008, 12:02 PM
The large enclosure 12x9 fits the REN26 very nicely
here it is shown vertically

I see we have a new Renard design? :lol:

Nice, informative post. I think these are same or similar to pics posted on Kevins website. My new official how to. :wink:

Thanks

Leon

sandy
05-02-2008, 12:43 PM
I see we have a new Renard design? :lol:

Nice, informative post. I think these are same or similar to pics posted on Kevins website. My new official how to. :wink:

Thanks

Leon

Yeah, the Ren26,
oopps that's a fat-finger mistake.

I'll have to see Kevin's site to see what he did.
only . . . where is it?

oh . . it's here
http://www.kevincook.net/Hobbies/Electronics/Lights/REN24/index.htm

Superfreak3
05-08-2008, 04:32 PM
Can anyone snap a picture of the 12x9 enclosure with a completed Ren24 (v2.5) with all the power outputs attached, main power attached, etc.? I purchased a completed Ren24 v2.5 so that's why I asked for that specifically, but would welcome a v3 pic as well.

I just want to see if there is enough punchout space for all the wires to exit the box.

I'm going to need to mount a neutral bar also or handle the neutrals in some other fashion that will fit.

Any pics would be greatly appreciated!

RJ
05-08-2008, 05:27 PM
They are great enclosures for the money. Like everyone else I got pointed at them by frank. I built the Freestyle and the SSR4 into them as I don't think you can do better for the money. I am do the MR16 controller into the one the smaller one. I had the benifit of having seen them before I laid out the pcb so I got the chance to design the boards into the cases. heres a picture :

http://diylightanimation.com/Blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/incase2.jpg

WWNF911
05-09-2008, 02:22 AM
They are great enclosures for the money. Like everyone else I got pointed at them by frank. I built the Freestyle and the SSR4 into them as I don't think you can do better for the money. I am do the MR16 controller into the one the smaller one. I had the benifit of having seen them before I laid out the pcb so I got the chance to design the boards into the cases. heres a picture :

http://diylightanimation.com/Blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/incase2.jpg

If I didn't know any better, I'd swear that case was made for that board. Very nice!

Leon

sandy
06-26-2008, 03:49 PM
Here a couple pictures of the completed Ren16 in the CG1000 (9x9) enclosure,
and the Ren24 in the CG2000 (12x9) enclosure,
and the labels that were made to fit in the indentations in the plastic cover.

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren16%20enclos.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren16%20open.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren16%20label-bottom.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren16%20label-top.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren24%20enclos.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren24%20open.jpg

http://www.yankeecruisah.com/lights/pic/ren%20labels.gif

The boards are mounted using plastic standoffs with screws through the enclosure.

The just weren't any convenient molded-in standoffs.

ppohlman
06-26-2008, 04:51 PM
Sandy -
I can't see any of those pictures. It says that the domain yankeecruisah.com has expired.
Anyone else having luck?

** EDIT ** Attached is a screen shot of the top part of the screen that I get

sandy
06-26-2008, 04:53 PM
Sandy -
I can't see any of those pictures. It says that the domain yankeecruisah.com has expired.
Anyone else having luck?

I can see them here at work but maybe that's because we're directly connected to the same server.

yep, the domain expired a couple days ago.
I'm working to get it back up.
If you want to see the pics,
I can send them to you via pm,
or wait until the sites back.

omzig
06-26-2008, 05:03 PM
Nevermind...

PacMang
07-08-2008, 03:28 PM
anyone used any of these enclosures for a Ren64 yet?

looking to buy a few

kmc123
07-08-2008, 04:11 PM
I have.
I used the rectangular ones for my Renard 64's and Ren-T's.
The pictures are on my site if you want to take a look...

sandy
07-10-2008, 04:27 PM
I can see them here at work but maybe that's because we're directly connected to the same server.

yep, the domain expired a couple days ago.
I'm working to get it back up.
If you want to see the pics,
I can send them to you via pm,
or wait until the sites back.

The domain seems to be back.
try the pictures and let me know if you can see them.