PDA

View Full Version : So what's my problem? (soldering problem that is)

imbluenote
04-13-2012, 02:53 PM
So I am fairly new to soldering and before working on a controller board, i bought some protoboards and made some wall wart tamers and they all work fine on the solder joints. So i bought some FAST from DIYLED Express and that is going well to on the soldering front and have one completed and working.

So i got the part and boards for the Ren 64XC, and i don't know what my deal has been with soldering on this board but i seem to have problems with alot of joints. There is a couple that has me perplexed, specifically the clock oscillator. I soldered it in initially and it went o.k. then when i turned the board over two of the legs weren't flush to the board. So i desolder and tried again and it still wasn't. So i desoldered the whole thing and saw the little "nubs" on the bottom and realized it wouldn't be perfectly against the board. So when i tried to resolder it 3 of the pins just don't seem to take the solder right (not creating the conical shape on the bottom). It just seems to puddle there and stays on the iron tip when i pull it off. The part is in there like there is some solder joint there, but doesn't have much if any solder on the bottom pad. Is there was a good deal of flux and tried to clean it of but no dice. I have another pin on one of the channel LED's doing the same thing.

Is this something i should try to fix now or wait until i try to diagnose the board once complete? Also it doesn't look like i burned the pads off, but could there be some burnt/caked on flux keeping the solder from adhering?

Skunberg
04-13-2012, 04:53 PM
I have the same type of trouble from time to time. If something doesn't solder nice on the first try, I try to save it in place.
But if I have to take a part out, I throw it away and put in a new one. Trying to clean up a used (removed) part for a good install is hard.