PDA

View Full Version : Nutcracker: new effect, animated gif's



smeighan
04-11-2012, 10:49 PM
Well, i have been busy. New Effect Class: gif


New effect will load an animated gif and project it onto your rgb device.

You each have a gif library space. Load up some animate gifs and see what they look like. Here is a suggestion, find very small gifs (like 32x32) that look good. Big gifs wont look so good .


So, since i knew i wanted as big a canvas as possible. These are going to be shown on a 16 string by 128 pixel matrix.
Each string is folded three times. This will make 49 strands of 42 pixels each.

So lets see what they look like.

First we will see the gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/usaCa.gif

array_to_save
username f
user_target AA22
effect_class gif
effect_name GIF1
file1 usaCa.gif
frame_delay 111
seq_duration 5
submit Submit Form to create your effect
OBJECT_NAME gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF1.gif



http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/lights11.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF2.gif

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/wreath06.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF3.gif

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/firework64.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF4.gif

Not all gifs seem to work as nicely.

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/bells2.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF5.gif

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/santa.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF6.gif


So enjoy. There are number of things i will probably add to the class. Black out backgrounds, look at fixing some transparency issues , .etc.

It is enough for you to get started.

thanks

mschell
04-11-2012, 11:35 PM
Can't seem to see all the animated GIFs, but the ones that can be seen look good anyway!

smeighan
04-11-2012, 11:59 PM
there was a width and height parameter from the DLA forum (where i copied from) that caused the gifs not to show. I edited those out of the original post. should be ok now.

thanks

smeighan
04-12-2012, 09:43 AM
New option to allow a brightness increase. There is a new prompt in the effect class, BRIGHTNESS.

If you answer yes then
for every pixel who has a brightness > 10%
increase its brightness by 50%

Here is what it does
Original
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF1.gif




(Note for Apr12) With new BRIGHTNESS option set to Y
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA22+GIF1_BRIGHT.gif

Another thread posted in LOR

Does the size of the gif have to match the number of pixels in the target? So if I was trying to do a matrix, to do a 32 x 32 gif I would need a 32 x 32 matrix at least?

Right now yes. I am writing auto sizing code now.

suppose you have 16 CCR's. I would fold them into

32x25 matrix.

Now when i map the wreath (which is 50x50) you will only see 32x25.

The autoscale is going to do this
change the 50x50 256 color into a 50x50 16 million true color image

Scale 50x50 down to say 25x25. It will average the colors together .

Now change the 25x25 true color image and select up to 256 colors for the new gif. Create a new resized gif.

There are many tools that manipulate gif files so i am not sure how much of photoshop i will recreate into Nutcracker.
I would never finish if i let myself become a photoshop lite. I will put in a few simpler image manipulations. O just added a simple brightness increase.

To make these look good , you need more pixels. The secret is finding someone who made a cool gif animation with very little pixel count. There are 100,000's of gif's out there. Maybe people could share the better sites.

My rule of thumb: if it looks good as a 32x32 gif, it will probably work in Nutcracker.

thanks

smeighan
04-12-2012, 01:03 PM
I have populated into everyones account a copy of the animated gifs i have been using. Your gif library is now pre-seeded with a dozen or so gif's.


I also forgot to mention , that all the animated gifs work on any target, not just the Matrix targets..

Here is an animated firework on a 16x100 megatree that has been folded into 32x50

http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/gifs/2/fireworks16.gif
http://meighan.net/nutcracker/effects/workspaces/2/AA+GIF_FIREWORKS16_MTREE.gif

thanks

boarder3
04-12-2012, 05:07 PM
i get confused when you guys say sizes of matrix's. i have a bunch of ge pixels with 50 on each string how would i manipulate these strings to work with the new gif effect.

smeighan
04-12-2012, 05:45 PM
i get confused when you guys say sizes of matrix's. i have a bunch of ge pixels with 50 on each string how would i manipulate these strings to work with the new gif effect.

let me explain.

say you have 8 strings with 50 pixels each.

Choice#1:
You can build a matrix that is 8 strings wide and 50 pixels high. This would be around 150" high and 24" wide. I assume 3" spacing between pixels and that you want your horizontal spacing to equal your vertical spacing.
we would call this a 8x50 matrix

That 2' wide by 12.5' high "matrix" will work, but it will probably look funny.

Choice#2:
fold each string in half.
the 8 strings become 16 strands of 25 pixels each. The overall dimension is now 75" high and 48" wide or 6.25' high by 4' wide.
we would call this a 16x25 matrx.

Choice#3:
fold each string 3 times.
the 8 strings will turn into 24 strands of 16 pixels each. 72" wide by 48" high. This would be 6' wide and 4' high.
we would call this a 24x16 matrix.

I would suggest you build all 3 choices in the target builder and just see what the different effects would look like. I think choice#3 for a matrix display would look the best. Just personal opinion.

boarder3
04-12-2012, 08:44 PM
i posted pics of my rgb mini tree a few weeks ago but i had an idea to change them and wondering it would work. lets say i make a 64 pixel box 8x8 instead of mini tree with that i should be able to write letters and pictures right. And with that type of layout do you think a jpg of a tree would look ok? I would change my original design to a box if that works.

smeighan
04-12-2012, 10:14 PM
i posted pics of my rgb mini tree a few weeks ago but i had an idea to change them and wondering it would work. lets say i make a 64 pixel box 8x8 instead of mini tree with that i should be able to write letters and pictures right. And with that type of layout do you think a jpg of a tree would look ok? I would change my original design to a box if that works.

I think a matrix (grid, box) has more capability to show stuff. A total of 64 pixels, though, is not alot. For most effects i think you need at least a few hundred (maybe 2-3 strings).

ccr's (LOR) are around $250 for 50 pixels. This is complete controlelr, power supply, pixels.

Strings from RJ (http://www.diylightanimation.com/wiki/index.php?title=Equipment#Smart_Strings) are around $100-150 for 80-128 pixels. These are what i will be building with.

There are other smart string choices. I wish there was a place that compared them all.

You need a controller (ELOR, e681, rj's smart string and hubs, LOR CCR), you need strings. Something like
http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209889132-495657303/75-node-LED-pixel-string-DC12V-input-new-model-IP68.html

i will probably get 8 strings of 128 pixes each and fold them into 16x64.

boarder3
04-13-2012, 02:57 PM
Think i explained wrong i dont want to do a box just a string with 64 pixels like a matrix. right now i have a tree shaped coro plastic with like 38 pixels but if i could use 64 in a matrix and put pictures of a tree in there and scroll text that would be much better. Do you think 64 pixels would be enough for that?

smeighan
04-13-2012, 04:11 PM
Think i explained wrong i dont want to do a box just a string with 64 pixels like a matrix. right now i have a tree shaped coro plastic with like 38 pixels but if i could use 64 in a matrix and put pictures of a tree in there and scroll text that would be much better. Do you think 64 pixels would be enough for that?

You could try and see what a matrix looks like,

Build a target like this

Model type? Matrix
Number of strings? 1
Number of pixels per string ? 64
Number of folds? 8


This will give you an 8x8 grid. Now try some effects.

Scrolling text might work, butterfly should work, animated gifs prob are not going to look like anything with such a small pixel count.

Most people on this forum are talking 8 strings of 50 and such, one user has 48 strings of 64.

The more pixels, the better the effects.

Like I said, the advantage of Nutcracker is you get to try these things out.

You might next try 2 strings of 64 pixels. Build a diff target and try effects on it.

good luck

klyneshouse
04-18-2012, 10:40 PM
The page seems kinda jumbled, hard to tell which input goes into what field.
Getting this message afterwards during creation -

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare fromrgb() (previously declared in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/gif.php:363) in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/read_file.php on line 789

Appears others are sucessful so I am pobaby doing something incorrect.

smeighan
04-18-2012, 11:41 PM
The page seems kinda jumbled, hard to tell which input goes into what field.
Getting this message afterwards during creation -

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare fromrgb() (previously declared in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/gif.php:363) in /users/meighan.net/htdocs/nutcracker/effects/read_file.php on line 789

Appears others are sucessful so I am pobaby doing something incorrect.

Can you tell me your login name and the target and effect names. i will try it out.

DennyMo
07-23-2012, 01:42 PM
You each have a gif library space. Load up some animate gifs and see what they look like.
I've looked but can't find any gif library space in my account. How do I get to it? Thanks.

budude
07-23-2012, 01:58 PM
On a semi-related note - will the installer be fixed at some point? I know you mean for most folks to use your site but I would like to have a local version running just in case as a backup.

smeighan
07-23-2012, 02:33 PM
I've looked but can't find any gif library space in my account. How do I get to it? Thanks.

Everyone has a place for the gifs, You can upload your own gifs there.

If you are talking about the pile of gif's i loaded a few months back in as a seeded pile, i have copied those into your library.

people who have created a nutcracker account since april may be missing my pile of gif's/ it is on my lst of to do's to make it part of the new account setup.

just pm me if you dont see 20-30 gifs when you go into the gif effect, i will copy a pile over for anyone.

thanks

smeighan
07-23-2012, 02:48 PM
On a semi-related note - will the installer be fixed at some point? I know you mean for most folks to use your site but I would like to have a local version running just in case as a backup.

i dont know brian.
i am thinking of changing this so that you pull down the code from sourceforge instead. I have not finished the sourceforge setup.

so, i am thinking of how to best allow setting up nutcracker locally.

i run my runs locally, but then i have the git copy of all the sources here.

it is on my to do list

sean

Materdaddy
07-23-2012, 02:51 PM
I fixed the installer a while ago and sent Sean some PMs with updates. I'm not sure if it still works, so I'll try again when I get home. I tested on a LAMP install, not WAMP, and I haven't updated so I don't know if it still works. I'll let you know some time tonight.

DennyMo
07-23-2012, 06:51 PM
Figured out my confusion: I was trying to upload a static .gif using the "picture" effect, and there are no links to the library from that page. I got the animated .gif working fine, and was able to upload and use one from my hard drive.

Again, many thanks!

Materdaddy
07-24-2012, 02:43 AM
Budude, I have sent you a PM (with Sean on CC) with the details for the local install. I don't want to post things around Sean, so I've included him. I'll leave it up to him for releasing changes.