PDA

View Full Version : E681 first time power up help



caviar
01-21-2012, 11:25 AM
First, will this power supply work to power (just the board)? The manual said between 7 and 15 Volts. Next, did I put the jumper in the right place for out side power source. Next, can I take the GE CE power supply and hook it to the pixel power on the board then just plug in one strand to the board.(just for testing)
http://i892.photobucket.com/albums/ac129/okeyday444/b80b4ff7.jpg

mschell
01-21-2012, 01:30 PM
OK, here are some guidelines on what power supply to use and where.

1. You can power the board electronics either together or separately from the pixel strings.
2. The power inputs for the pixel strings need to match the pixels you are using on that "side" of the board.
3. If you use 5V pixels, and have enough capacity, you can power the board from that.
4. The external power input for the board needs to be at least 7 volts.

The PS you showed should work for just the board.

caviar
01-21-2012, 07:30 PM
Ok, it powered up okay, but I can't get the pc to talk to the 681, but the blue light is on. I put in the 192. 168.1.206 in the browser, but it said it can't be found. The only thing I have downloaded was vixen e1.31 plugin. Is there something else I need to download?

angus40
01-21-2012, 07:44 PM
maybe these will help

Slite
01-21-2012, 07:55 PM
Ok, it powered up okay, but I can't get the pc to talk to the 681, but the blue light is on. I put in the 192. 168.1.206 in the browser, but it said it can't be found. The only thing I have downloaded was vixen e1.31 plugin. Is there something else I need to download?

Are your pc on the same subnet? 192.168.1.X ??

caviar
01-21-2012, 10:42 PM
Ok, the problem, my pc ethernet port would not go up high enough to be able to find the 681, so I had to set my port manually. Then, I configured the 681 for my GECE 36, and now I have 2048 more channels.
Thanks for all the responses.
And a big thank to Jim for his help. What a great guy.
Kevin