PDA

View Full Version : Fully Centralized Topology?

air_run
09-22-2011, 12:56 AM
Greetings fellow DIYC's,

I have decided to do a "Centralized Topology" for my layout. I have read the Wiki on this but, I wanted to get some feedback on the pitfalls, advantages, etc from some of you that have gone this route. I am not sure if it is because I am new to the hobby (Dec of last year) but I really haven't seen or heard much on a lot of people going this route. I chose this route as I feel I could protect my electronics better and be easier for troubleshooting purposes and setting up in the future years to come. Not to mention just kill the breakers and slap on the doors.

I am really excited about it and for the first time since December of last year my wife or "O-Master-Of-The-Finances" is finally seeing where all the $$$ is going and getting on board as she is a visual person, and even helping out, yay! But, that's another topic... More pics to follow as I get main power, SSR's, CAT5 cables, etc in there.

Aaron

11436 11438 11437

rjchu
09-22-2011, 01:15 AM
When I saw the subject line I was expecting to read about plans for Ren64's in the garage and SSR's out in the yard. Based on the pictures though it looks like you're planning to put your Ren64's, SSR's and plugs/outlets all together in the garage and run extension cords to the light strings and display items in the yard. This approach will certainly work, I'm just curious about why you've designed things this way vs putting the SSR's in the yard or if consolidating in the garage, not going with Ren24SS's or something similar that have SSR's built in? As I said, there's nothing wrong with this and it'll certainly work, just curious as perhaps you've stumbled upon a design/setup that I could benefit from as well!

-Joni-

PS: you've got a VERY clean, dare I say pretty, setup there! Call me jealous! ;)

air_run
09-22-2011, 01:46 AM