PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Mount A 6' Star To Your Roof?



lboucher
03-21-2011, 03:34 PM
Hi All

So I have a nice Holdman Star just shy of 6' tall.
I built a ridiculously large base to hold it on my rough last year.
http://pachristmas.com/?page_id=277

It worked, but was kinda overkill and is now destroyed anyways, as I am moving to another home and well, it was just easier to get off the roof that way.

I have a few thoughts about how I want to redesign the base this comeing year, but need to put the ideas on paper.

In the meantime, i thought i would ask if anyone else has some pictures showing how they put there star on the roof.

Thanks
Lucas

Pwmcguire
03-30-2011, 07:09 PM
I used 1/4 inch plywood with furring strips to brace behind it and the base support it. It is about 6 foot. I have used it two years and plan on using it a third. It uses c9 Icans. it is super light, I can put it up myself. I Just thought I could give you more to think about. I added a quick diagram. I hope it helps

Jack Stevens
03-31-2011, 11:03 AM
If you have any skill with a welder, or want to develop some, here's a "how-to" for a wirefame roof mount star.

http://www.christmascarolina.com/forums/showthread.php/846-How-to-build-Walter-s-Bethlehem-Star?highlight=walter+star

Even though it's built out of steel rod, it tends to be a lot lighter than the plywood counterparts.

I used mini-lights on the two that I built. Walter using C9's on his; draws 12 amps at full-on, though.

christmas-light
03-31-2011, 01:44 PM
Here se how he did it:

http://vimeo.com/476415

EDIT: it is about 13:00 in the video ;)

tlorek
04-09-2011, 08:22 PM
If you have any skill with a welder, or want to develop some, here's a "how-to" for a wirefame roof mount star.

http://www.christmascarolina.com/forums/showthread.php/846-How-to-build-Walter-s-Bethlehem-Star?highlight=walter+star

Even though it's built out of steel rod, it tends to be a lot lighter than the plywood counterparts.

I used mini-lights on the two that I built. Walter using C9's on his; draws 12 amps at full-on, though.

OK, This is just wrong...

I registered at the Carolina website so I could view these drawings...I accurately put in my location as Indiana, and then my registration on the website was rejected. Keep that in mind, those of you who don't live in that corner of the US. Can someone who lives in the Carolinas and has gotten past the registration process cross post the information here?

Thanks,

mschell
04-10-2011, 08:52 PM
Tom,
Not sure what happened. We have folks on ChristmasCarolina from all over the US.

The PDF file that was listed is too large to be uploaded to this reply. You might want to send a PM to William Bottomley here on DIYC. He's the admin of ChristmasCarolina.

Jack Stevens
04-13-2011, 02:57 PM
Tom -

I let William know about your issue.

- Jack

Jack Stevens
04-13-2011, 03:04 PM
10113

That's one of two files; the other is too large to upload.