PDA

View Full Version : Soldering opinions...

wonko
01-12-2011, 12:21 PM
Not sure if this is the right place for this or not. In the past I always used paste flux or a flux pen on all my parts when soldering anything. I use 60/40 solder and have never had a problem. My question is, what do you all do? The adding flux and clean up afterwards is tedious and time consuming and just plain gets old. I'm wondering if anyone has noticed a definite advantage to using extra flux, or should I trust the flux in the solder. I've always liked the way the solder seems to flow more smoothly and evenly with less heat when using the flux. Am I being too cautious? Is it possible to get the same results without using flux? I've been soldering for over 15 years and have never dome it without flux, so I really have no experience soldering without it. If I could get away with soldering without it (and save some time) I would love it. So what do you all do?

Thanks... Brian

bobkeyes
01-12-2011, 01:31 PM
Brian,

I don't add anything. I just use rosin core solder. Occasionally I will have a tough joint and will add a little flux, but that is rare.

mikentn
01-12-2011, 01:33 PM
I've always used flux-cored solder, and never have had an issue. The only time I'll use extra flux is if I'm soldering on bare copper clad vs tinned.

dmcole
01-12-2011, 02:58 PM
I don't add anything. I just use rosin core solder. Occasionally I will have a tough joint and will add a little flux, but that is rare.

+1

\dmc

Entropy
01-12-2011, 03:51 PM
For through-hole - I rarely add extra unless I encounter a problem.

For SMD, I have typically applied flux in advance, assuming I'll encounter a problem otherwise. (TSSOP without flux = almost guaranteed problems for me)

g2ktcf
01-12-2011, 04:30 PM
Brian,

Another +1

wonko
01-12-2011, 06:59 PM