PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Using 595 Remotely?



slug
01-07-2011, 07:22 AM
Does anyone have the 595 out in the yard with the display? If so, how are you supplying the power? Did you put a pc pwr supply in the enclosure with the board? Just curious. I'm thinking about putting it out in the yard to reduce Cat5 cables, but can't quite visualize the enclosure part.

RickeyS
01-07-2011, 04:21 PM
See this link:
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?14581-Passing-Grinch-to-a-friend-but...
I use my Grinch remotely.
Rick

slug
01-07-2011, 08:01 PM
That's what I was looking for, but do you have more details about the power supply? There doesn't look like there is enough room under the plate to house a pc power supply. What kind of options do I have for supplying the 5v to the 595.

dirknerkle
01-09-2011, 12:29 AM
I built a wireless 595 into a CG2000 case last year -- here's the original posting that has a photo...

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?11106-Controlling-the-Olsen-595&p=124868#post124868

slug
01-09-2011, 07:58 PM
Perfect! Thanks all.