PDA

View Full Version : new to all of this



kendogg89
12-03-2010, 12:36 PM
i am new to all of the computer controlled stuff but am very interested.
i have a dell optiplex with an on board parallel port that i'm trying to use the 8 data bits off of using vixen. however only ch 1 works i com not get any other channel to work. please help!!!

i also ordered parts to build a hill 320 and a olsen 595 any feed back on ether of these?

RichF
12-03-2010, 04:56 PM
you have to change the lpt port to epp mode in the bios.

kendogg89
12-03-2010, 05:06 PM
i don't have epp as an option in the bios would it be easier / necessary to buy a card capable of epp?

tweist
12-03-2010, 05:12 PM
Welcome newbie

As for the port settings, it depends on which plugin you are using.

Last year I used the Grinch boards to control my system. It was far easier to build and program than the hill 320 and a lot less work. I originally thought about using the hill 320, but then the guys here on the forum showed me the grinch and how much easier it was.

This year I have changed everything over to the Ren64. That way I can still use all of the SSR's I had already made, and I got dimming and wireless options with it.

Not sure this is helping, but if you are just starting out, I would recommend the grinch.

Ronp
12-03-2010, 06:59 PM
how do you have it wired?

Pin 2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9 is the pos 5 v to the relay
Ground all the relays to pins 18-28 (if i remember right)
What relays are you using ? the have to be under 5 v for the control....

Gebbinn
12-03-2010, 08:56 PM
Try checking out THIS POST (http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showpost.php?p=129516&postcount=1) and see if it helps you.

kendogg89
12-06-2010, 04:57 PM
how do you have it wired?

Pin 2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9 is the pos 5 v to the relay
Ground all the relays to pins 18-28 (if i remember right)
What relays are you using ? the have to be under 5 v for the control....

i have it wired like this only im using led to test the chanels my parts will come in on thursday (dec. 9- 2010). i just wanted to see that every thing on the pc side was working properly b4 i build the controller.
still can not find out why only ch 1 will work :confused:

LabRat
12-06-2010, 05:01 PM
LED Polarity??

kendogg89
12-08-2010, 12:03 AM
just tried reversint the led's still nothing :(

Gebbinn
12-08-2010, 04:08 AM
Did you check the link I posted there kendogg? There is a tool in there that allows you to look at exactly what your parallel port is doing.

I had the same problem you are having, and it took me about 3 days to figure it out, and that Parmon tool is what helped me.

Make certain you are using the BasicParallel.dll plugin for your sequences.

Everything else is in the link i put in my prior post. I will be home for the next 2 days, if you PM me with a time you are online, we can start up a chat and I will help you through this.