PDA

View Full Version : Olsen 595 Problems

davdue
11-24-2010, 07:35 PM
I have been using a 64 channel Olsen for 3 years now. This year with the same computer as last year and now it doesn't blink right. I have a test sequence that turns on each channel for one 100ms cycle in order. It blinks all the channels. The only change I have made was I jumped pins 18-25 together on the parallel connector. I also have a second 595 board now. But even without the second one it still doesn't work right. Any ideas?

RichF
11-24-2010, 08:52 PM
unjump pins 18-25 if that is the only change you have done I would say that is it.

but check you lpt port settings maybe the bios was reset.

davdue
11-24-2010, 10:35 PM
I found a broken wire on pin 2 of the DB25. But now I don't have any blinky flashy. I have the bios set for EPP but the device manager says EPC and I don't know how to change that. I deleted the port and had it scan for hardware changes but it comes back to EPC. Does any one have the voltage values I should see on the parallel port pins so I can verify the data is coming out. I have rung out the data cable and it is good. I also removed the pin 18-25 jumpers but to no avail. Help!!!! The light show is supposed to go on tomorrow evening.

davdue
11-25-2010, 12:43 AM