PDA

View Full Version : problems with 595



vincehc
11-10-2010, 02:17 PM
when i run a sequence i am having channels come on in pairs instead of single channel if channel one is on chanel two is on and so on any help would be great

RichF
11-10-2010, 05:31 PM
Does this happen for all channels or just some channels.
When you have your controller program set up do you have 64 channels selected i your configuration?
DO you have your LPT port set properly?

vincehc
11-11-2010, 12:41 AM
all 64 channels. set up for 64 channels in setup . as far as i can tell prinnter port is set up correctly

RichF
11-11-2010, 08:24 AM
Check the bios of your computer and see if the LPT port is set to EPP.

vincehc
11-11-2010, 12:12 PM
thanks for the help richf changed computers for this year and forgot to change bios it was set on wrong one changed it and worked like a charm

timsdailydose
11-12-2010, 11:46 AM
I am having the same problem as well. Using the channel test. Have verified my bios and all 64 channels set up. testing one channel at a time this is what is happening:
Selected channel. LED for channel coming on.
1 thru 23 1 thru 23 All OK
24 24 and 25 on
25 thru 38 26 thru 39 off by one channel
39 40 and 41 on
40 thru 64 42thru 64 off by two channels now

Changed 595 board with another one i have and the results on this board are:

Selected channel. LED for channel coming on.
1 thru 62 1 thru 62 All OK
63 63 and 64 on
64 63 and 64 on

I have rotated the chip sets around on the board ( no difference) and inspected the traces and solder points on the boards and do not see a problem.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

RichF
11-12-2010, 01:40 PM
Tim look at your solder joints near your output connectors I think this is where you will find your problem

RichF
11-12-2010, 01:41 PM
vincehc Great to hear all is working now

timsdailydose
11-12-2010, 07:01 PM
Well ive got good and bad news lol. The good news is i know what is wrong. found a bad solder connection for one and also a bad ULN2903a chip also. Moved the chip with the bad channel to a location that i am not using. Thanks for the help .

RichF
11-12-2010, 09:05 PM
Great to here it is working now. When you get a chance order the uln chip an you will have all 64 channels working.

zztopmo
11-14-2010, 09:43 PM
Ok guys here is my problem. When I hook my 595 to test inside worked great. Took out side and worked great on first test run...then...a mess. Now all I get is lights staying on and when I unplug the cable I get flickering. I have made sure that my setting is EPP. HELP! (At least my Ren is working)

jpb
11-14-2010, 10:07 PM
If you bring it back inside do the problems go away?
If so you may have a cabling issue, perhaps a voltage drop due to cable length?

Jon

zztopmo
11-14-2010, 10:37 PM
Ok if I put the olsen first in my sequence before the ren it works. If I try to move them around the 595 stops working. Any thoughts??? All of my sequences depend on the ren being first. HELP I don't want to have to rearrange my sequences this late in the game.

Rick

jpb
11-16-2010, 12:43 AM
Rick,
I might be barking up the wrong tree but the 595 works on your paralel port and the REN works on your serial port. You must be using a REN-C in front of your 595 to have it on the serial port.

Now I don't have a REN 24 but looking at the wiki there are two different versions of the board, The version 3 board has the data on Pin 4 and version 2.5 on Pin 5 of the RJ45. The REN-C expects it on Pin 4.
and as I look further there is the following note.
NOTE: The 2.5 cable will not work with the Renard16, Renard64 or Ren-C boards because pins 4 and 5 on the version 2.5 Renard24 are reversed from those other boards.

Maybe this is your problem

Jon