PDA

View Full Version : Chauvet Relay Pack?

svironmen24
11-25-2007, 01:46 AM
greeting everyone,

i'm completely new to everything so i'm going to be needing some help. i've downloaded Vixen and have been tinkering around with it. I've pretty much got a hang of it. From what i've read, i see that you can use a parallel port, or a serial port. i DJ on the side and own an 8 channel Chauvet relay pack. It has a serial port on it. Would i be able to plug a serial wire from my computer to the relay pack and control those channels with Vixen? I don't know much about how everything works yet so i figured everyone could help. I asked this on computerchristmas.com and was directed here to see if you DMX people could help at all. This might have been a real stupid question. If so, sorry for asking. Thanks!

Dan Rojtas

Greg in Canby
11-25-2007, 01:52 AM
I'm thinking about selling my Open DMX dongle (which powers my NSI dimmers through a NSI IF-501).

Search the forum for DMX entries and read as much as you can. Vixen has the ability to output DMX and that should switch your relay pack just fine.

svironmen24
11-25-2007, 03:14 AM
Do i need to do something else but make a program in Vixen and then hook up to the relay pack through the serial ports? or is that it and im good? my relay pack is not a dimmer, just an on/off. it seems like DMX are dimmers. will DMX plug-in's still run an on/off relay pack?

NogginBoink
11-25-2007, 10:47 AM
You'll need a Vixen plug-in to convert the data coming out of Vixen to a format the relay box can understand.

Do you have the specs for the relay box that you can link to here?

Greg in Canby
11-25-2007, 12:51 PM
Do you have the specs for the relay box that you can link to here?

That’s a good plan NogginBoink.

While we don’t know about your specific relay packs yet, my NSI relay packs go on and off at about 15% so a dimming signal will switch my relay packs.