PDA

View Full Version : Relay Boards?

bhilpert
09-13-2010, 12:25 AM
I am looking to start using more relay boards in my haunted house but need some help.

I have been using a simple 8 channel parallel board for the past 4 years. I honestly just found Vixen late last year and began to realize to kind of props that I could make using vixen. I don't have a computer anymore with parallel port and need new options

I would like a few 8 and 16 channel board (with the ability to dimming and fade). I see the Renard board looks like a good board but I do not know much about it or what else is out there.

I have looked at the LOR (light o Rama) equipment and that looks to be in line with what I would like to do but I don't want to be locked into using LOR equipment and software for the next 30 years.

Any help would be great

jem5136
09-13-2010, 12:37 AM
I would suggest using Renard boards, or even Lynx Expresses. For a haunted house, a Lynx Express would be really cool, because they run in a DMX universe without having to do anything special to them, and then later on down the road, you could add different special effects through a DMX stream.

But if you want to keep it simple, go with Renard, its the best choice for simplicity.

Jesse

budude
09-13-2010, 12:50 AM
I am looking to start using more relay boards in my haunted house but need some help.

I have been using a simple 8 channel parallel board for the past 4 years. I honestly just found Vixen late last year and began to realize to kind of props that I could make using vixen. I don't have a computer anymore with parallel port and need new options

I would like a few 8 and 16 channel board (with the ability to dimming and fade). I see the Renard board looks like a good board but I do not know much about it or what else is out there.