PDA

View Full Version : The Mini Tree Maker!

james70818
08-23-2010, 04:56 AM
Well this is my first year of building my display. So last week I started making my 8 channel mini trees that have 1600 lights on them. The first thing I noticed was that rotating that tree gets old real fast! With over 60 different mini trees to make I had a lot of rotating in my future. So I built the Mini Tree Maker!

I took the 4th axis rotary table off of my mill, a 1/4" flex shaft used with my remote control boats, and an drill.
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=170&pictureid=845

Then I mounted a piece of plywood to the rotary table.
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=170&pictureid=846

The drill with a zip tie on the trigger then it is plugged into a cheap harbor freight foot switch for a router.
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=170&pictureid=847

slovanredneck
08-23-2010, 08:48 AM
Wow... 8 channel mini trees!!! I was impressed with the group buys but this is impressive also. Are you planning on recording your display this year? I'm interested in how your first year turns out. I can only imagine the time that you have invested so far. My family is already getting a little cranky from the countless hours in my first year and I'm not going as big as you are.

james70818
08-23-2010, 09:30 AM
Wow... 8 channel mini trees!!! I was impressed with the group buys but this is impressive also. Are you planning on recording your display this year? I'm interested in how your first year turns out. I can only imagine the time that you have invested so far. My family is already getting a little cranky from the countless hours in my first year and I'm not going as big as you are.