PDA

View Full Version : oldest slowest pc running Vixen



Mike78CobraII
11-21-2007, 06:41 AM
Whats the oldest slowest computer anybody has Vixen running on without any problems? Just curious.

jmelvin
11-21-2007, 08:28 AM
I started out using my 10yr old gateway laptop 300mhz Intel celeron 128meg ram with windows 2000. It worked great but I wanted to do remote desktop and it didn't have a network card.

scharbon
11-21-2007, 09:06 AM
My Christmas computer is an 8 year old Dell P2 500 MHz with 512 MB RAM under Windows XP. No problems running 64 channels off a 595 at 50 millisecond intervals.

Steve

Aurbo99
12-15-2007, 01:05 PM
Toshiba Satellite 4030cdt, 124 megs of ram, ESS cound chip ECP printer port

DO NOT use Sequence previewer or it chops the music.

Keep it at Win2000 NOT XP.. it uses too much resources.

While I have my entire setup running on it.. I'm leary of actually using it. But I will test run it today

Right now I am using my desktop running the Music and data cat5 cables out to the garage where the grinch is set up.

daviddth
12-15-2007, 06:48 PM
I tried with a Win 2K P3 500, but it just did not quite have the grunt to drive the sequence, so now I have a P4 3.06Ghz laptop with 1Gig of ram & 80GB HDD - overkill, but it works great.

Macrosill
12-15-2007, 07:12 PM
I tried with a Win 2K P3 500, but it just did not quite have the grunt to drive the sequence,....

hmm, thats exactly the machine I am trying as we speak. With 128mb ram.

edit: it runs with the preview, have not tried the outputs yet.

flintman
12-15-2007, 08:40 PM
PIII 700 WITH 64MB RAM RUNNING WINDOWS 2000

ben
12-15-2007, 09:11 PM
Win98 upgraded to Xp 17G hard drive Working on a parallel port card and just added a 23G slave HD.

Ben

zaker
12-15-2007, 09:45 PM
Show computer is a PIII-800 w/256Mb RAM, running XP. 88 channels on a Ren64 & Ren24

tom

fcky529
12-16-2007, 09:35 PM
i had it all running on an old AMD K6 w/ 512 MB RAM but the hard drive burnt up and I just swapped it all for an AMD Athlon 1800 clocked at 1.2 GHz with a GB RAM

both were running XP Pro no preview 8 channels

pete
12-17-2007, 02:43 AM
I actually ran sequences last yr on a 120mhz laptop. vixen 1.1 running 32 ch and the previewer

Macrosill
12-17-2007, 10:46 AM
looks like Pete takes the cake thus far!

bluemax
01-06-2008, 02:40 AM
I am using a 200 mhz CPU, 40 Mb ram and running Windows ME. I am using 3 parallel ports and 1 Digital I/o Card. The D I/O card is only 8 channels so I control it ising the Basic parallel plug-in and inputting the card address. I set up the sequences with 50 ms. It works great! I built my own relay boxes using a single transistor circuit that I desiged myself for each channel.
RedBaron (Richard Baron - Tucson)

djulien
01-11-2008, 12:49 AM
I was thinking about old/slow PCs also. Microsoft Windows is horribly unpredictable for any type of real-time processing (which becomes an issue for complex sequences over the serial port).

I'm thinking that it might be useful to make a Vixen sequence "player". This would be a stripped down .EXE, no user interface. All it would do is read a .vix file and pump out the control bytes to the serial port, maybe give an abreviated status message on the screen that everything is working okay. I could see this being very useful for older machines. It would also allow a Vixen sequence to be run without needing Windows (ie, just a DOS box), or maybe also make a Linux version.

Does this sound feasible, or is it more effort than it would be worth?

don

A Marchini
01-11-2008, 02:43 AM
I was thinking about old/slow PCs also. Microsoft Windows is horribly unpredictable for any type of real-time processing (which becomes an issue for complex sequences over the serial port).

I'm thinking that it might be useful to make a Vixen sequence "player". This would be a stripped down .EXE, no user interface. All it would do is read a .vix file and pump out the control bytes to the serial port, maybe give an abreviated status message on the screen that everything is working okay. I could see this being very useful for older machines. It would also allow a Vixen sequence to be run without needing Windows (ie, just a DOS box), or maybe also make a Linux version.

Does this sound feasible, or is it more effort than it would be worth?

don

A derivative of the server mode of Vixen could be used here.
Main host would send out the sequence to sub control systems (either the end controllers or small computers) that run the local control systems. These would then get a beat message indicating the current timeslot being issued by Vixen.
This would allows smaller machines to offload the traffic to the subcontrollers.

This is all probably doable with the code as it already exists, there are threads somewhere on the use of the server mode somewhere around here I think.

Tony M.

djulien
01-11-2008, 04:13 PM
Tony,


This is all probably doable with the code as it already exists, there are threads somewhere on the use of the server mode somewhere around here I think.

Great. I came across a reference to server mode in one of the posts, but did not look into that yet.

thanks for pointing me in that direction!

don