PDA

View Full Version : How many levels of Dimming?

ebrady
03-21-2010, 10:34 AM
I am a newbie at DIY Christmas, but an experienced engineer. I have brainstormed a controller design and am working on the schematic (for the fun of it). However I need to make a decision regarding it's performance.

So here is the simple question, how many levels of dimming are truly needed before the human eye can no longer tell the difference between adjacent steps? I have tried 11 levels (0 - 100%) and while I can discern a very small difference between levels, I can not envision a need to have any more then that for most displays..

What are your experiences?

Ed

P. Short
03-21-2010, 10:41 AM
Do you get smooth fades with that number of levels? That is the main reason for wanting a larger number of dimming levels, especially at lower brightness levels.

ebrady
03-21-2010, 10:51 AM
Do you get smooth fades with that number of levels? That is the main reason for wanting a larger number of dimming levels, especially at lower brightness levels.

Well, I am a newbie... I have not yet build a large scale display... Playing around on the workbench, I have done a few fades manually with strings of 50 and 100 lights. The fades are smooth, however I wonder if this is a truly representative result for the number of levels needed?

ebrady
03-21-2010, 11:14 AM
I have done some additional research, and I can see that existing systems are all over the map on this... X10 uses 64 levels, some DMX systems use 256 levels, some 65536 levels, some custom systems use 4096. Either way it is becoming evident to me that 11 levels is more then likely going to be inadequate. I have a hard time believing that 4096 plus isn't complete overkill, however my experience is lacking in this area...

budude
03-21-2010, 11:34 AM