PDA

View Full Version : Controlling the Olsen 595

Nadurru
03-13-2010, 05:01 PM
Well as I have said before, this is my first year doing a light display and I was wondering if there is an alternate way to controll the 595? (usb, or network card) I don't have a parallel port on my PC. I have other older machines that have it but I would rather run the show from my pc instead of a seperate one.

Also I have upgraded to Win 7 64 bit. I tried to install Vixen and it coughed all over the place on me. It also wants version 2.0 of the .Net framework. 64bit OS's don't use 2.0 anymore. Is there a version ov Vixen out there that works with a 64 bit OS?

budude
03-13-2010, 05:13 PM
I don't have a 595 myself but you can get either a Ren-C or a DMX-Grinch interface to drive the 595. These either require a RS-232/485 interface or DMX Dongle to run them. Look around in the Wiki for more information:
http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php?title=Ren-C
http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php?title=DMX_to_Grinch/595_convertor

As for Win7-64/Vixen - I think folks have gotten that to work - check some of the posts in the Vixen forum.

Good Luck

dirknerkle
03-13-2010, 06:13 PM
Nadurru, I hear your pain!

Budude has given you great places to look for excellent information, but I'll toss in another idea: purchase a good used PC that has Windows XP just for running your lights and nothing else. You can find some excellent and fast equipment for less than $200.

Over time, you will find this to be vastly superior than trying to get all the wierd Vixen plug-ins to work on the newest of the new OSs from the boys from Redmond. Then you won't be pulling your hair out (providing you have hair...that is...) fiddling with the PC and you can focus on making a great show.